The Great Crab Warrior Of Davy Jones

Crab Warrior
The Great Crab Warrior Of Davy Jones (By Radhika Mukherjee)

Here’s another one of my fantastical ‘soul sketches’.

I find they are a great warming up activity for writing: meditative and absorbing; creative, yet not too taxing.

They are my version of adult coloring books, where I first sketch the shape and then fill in the outline with soft pencil. When finished, this one looked to me to belong squarely on the Flying Dutchman!

I really like the whimsy of it, that I can never quite predict what the final shape will resemble. It’s kind of like cloud-shape watching, in reverse. A very happy retreat into childhood territory.

Also amazing to me is the intense grotesquery of these shapes and figures. After watching these spring from my hands I will never be surprised at any alien who visits earth, I tell you! 😉

 

2 thoughts on “The Great Crab Warrior Of Davy Jones

Leave a comment! Spark a Conversation!

