An Epiphany About Time

It is going to take the time it is going to take. There is no point in hurrying unnecessarily, jumping the gun or taking shortcuts.

That is what I realized today.

In creativity, business or life, you can only show up and be true to the moment. Many factors, some outside of your influence, have to mesh to produce the results you seek. You cannot control all outcomes.

You just have to travel the path you’ve set for yourself. At an easy jog that you can keep up for hours, days, months and even years, if needed. As you chalk up the miles, you will discover the signposts changing, leading you to your destination.

Now, I have always been an impatient person. Someone who generally learns and works pretty fast. Anything I don’t do well instinctively, I just don’t attempt; like learning Sanskrit in school or getting Calculus. Writing too, after a short, initial struggle did flow for me in adolescence. And I had written and edited in a professional capacity.

So imagine my consternation when the writing simply refused to work with me, after I quit my full-time and freelance jobs respectively, to write! I had to go through a long period of rest, recovery and renewal to take these baby steps back into the world of writing.

I know now that it could not have happened any other way. I needed to take the time. I needed to look after myself first. And the books and I will be the better for it. No matter that I needed/wanted to have three books out the year before yesterday! There is still a long way to go but what I know now is that the journey, the long haul, can only be undertaken with calm and patience.

So this is my request to you. If you are tearing yourself up about something. If there is an urgent goal you cannot accomplish fast enough, to the determent of mental or physical health; take a tiny step back.

Take a deep breath and evaluate your aims calmly. If you find that no matter what, something is going to take time. Please, give it that time. You’ll be happier and less stressed, and the work at the end of it – is bound to be better.

Be gentle on yourself.

Tread soft.

Smile.

🙂

2 thoughts on “An Epiphany About Time

Leave a comment! Spark a Conversation!

