A Writing Rule, I Think…

I believe I have stumbled upon one inviolate rule of writing, at least for me:

You should not try and attempt to read a new, powerful piece of fiction while writing fiction yourself.

You need your own voice to be imprinted upon your works. If you reside within the magic world of a powerful word mage simultaneously, echoes of their tone and point of view are bound to seep into your WIP, which might result in a very confused and confusing book.

So what I am doing is either reading non-fiction or reading a fiction book so familiar and beloved that it brings a smile and that essential relaxation but does not overwhelm my mind.

So far, it’s kind of working…

How do you balance consuming content and creating content? Let me know!

Leave a comment! Spark a Conversation!

