Rising Above Resistance (The Writer Chronicles 3)

Rise Above And Fly By Radhika Mukherjee
Rise Above And Fly
(c) Radhika Mukherjee

The Writer is down with a headache. Lying in bed, curtains drawn, cold pack on head, she grimaces in pain and frustration.

It was going so well! A beginning had been made but then ‘Bop!’ went the world. She’d hit her head on the upper fridge door handle and now she had a headache, blurry eyes, stiff and sore neck and a generally painful spine.

What is this, she wondered, some sort of karmic retribution for reaching for her dreams? The darkness that comes after the silver lining? Fate going, “Ha-ha, gotcha”? Seriously, just when the writing starts, something like this happens. How can one do any worthwhile work in this state? Was this another stop to have to go back to the never-ending series of beginnings? Was she always to be stuck in this beginning zone?

It was an unbearable thought.

Narrowing her eyes, gritting her teeth against the pain, the Writer sat up. ‘This can’t beat me, can’t push me back!’ she muttered.

‘Can’t beat me, can’t push me…’

‘Can’t beat, Can’t push!’

Chanting a sort of mantra she made her groggy, painful way to her desk and sat down to steady her senses. Sat still for a minute and then powered on her laptop.

She started by typing out the handwritten scenes from the day before, ignoring her throbbing head, the glaze over her eyes and her complaining spinal column. She stopped only for a few long breaths and a drink of water. Soon, as she grew absorbed in her work, the pain and discomfort receded.

The typing of the chapter was complete.

The writer rested awhile. In stillness, feeling filled with calmness and even more determination. Mellow afternoon heat, hinting at summer fullness, washed over her, streaming in from the window framing green and yellow. She stared out at the richness of the world. She nodded.

Words beckoned. Ideas danced.

She picked up a pen and began a new chapter.

9 thoughts on “Rising Above Resistance (The Writer Chronicles 3)

  1. Ah…the perils of being a writer, I really enjoyed reading this! It would be so lovely if every day it all just fell into line, and the words fell onto the page – easily. Life is so much more like you have written it, and I love your humour in this too!

    It would be lovely if I could publish this great piece of writing in the November issue of a free online literary magazine of mine – would that interest you?

    It has five issues published at the moment (one new one every two months) it’s regularly gaining new readers and followers by email as well as WordPress followers. There are no printed copies or any money involved for myself or the writers. It’s free for anyone to read. The aim is primarily to help promote writers/artists/photographers on websites and blogs from all over the internet. https://thewritinggarden.wordpress.com/

    The copyright remains with the writer and I always include a link back to where the work was originally published and also any other social media/business/book links you’d like me to include (please let me know which ones – if you have any).

    If you would be interested in allowing me to publish your work please check out the magazine and let me know. I know not all writers wish to have their work posted elsewhere, so if you’d rather not, don’t hesitate to say no, I really won’t mind.
    Suzy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you that’s great Radhika! 🙂 Thanks for the Twitter link too, got all of that saved for your credit/links. It should be out some time in the first week of November. This last time I was a little later, things don’t always go so smoothly as planned! But as soon as it’s published, I’ll get back here with a link for you. Looking forward to sharing your work!
      Suzy 🙂

      Like

        1. Thanks for the offer Radhika! 🙂 I manage it okay at the moment because I copy and paste work into each issue, which makes everything a lot easier. There are some occasions when I see a few little things I’d like to change, but that can be because the writer is not writing in their first language, I don’t often insist on little changes unless it’s really unreadable! I like to encourage writers to write better, so often pick their best work, so not much need for editing. Encouragement goes a long way! I usually ask the writer to double check their work, when it’s published just in case I’ve made any errors. Most errors tend to be on spacing, as my theme has an annoying habit of erasing spacing!

          If at any time things change and I feel I need some assistance, you’ll be the first I shall think of, thank you for your thoughtfulness and enthusiasm Radhika, that’s so kind of you!♥

          Liked by 1 person

          1. That’s a cool system, Suzy! No worries, let me know anytime you need any help at all! 🙂 I really appreciate what you are doing for the blogging community! So looking forward to the next edition! 🙂
            Cheers,
            Radhika

            Like

  2. Pingback: The Writing Garden ~ Issue Six | The Writing Garden

Leave a comment! Spark a Conversation!

