Gorgeous Photos But Proofing Fail

 

So much content nowadays, offline and online, contains glaring errors. Which simply underscores the need for conscientious Editors and Proofreaders to vet the material and only then hit the ‘Publish’ button.

Here’s a beautiful set of photos for you:

http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/killian-schonberger-foggy-europe

Marred, quite seriously, by the headline:

Screenshot 2014-11-12 15.38.11

I have commented on the post to let them know. I really hope they fix it!

What do you think? Do errors like this bother you, or is it fine?

Please share in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “Gorgeous Photos But Proofing Fail

  1. I have to confess to having been an English teacher. I always told my students that goofs like the one you point out weaken their message; readers may well assume that, if the writer can’t spell, there are other serious flaws in the writing. So I agree completely. And you can bet I’m reading this three times to make sure I have no typos!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I see them often, and more and more in newspapers or brochures, where complete words will be wrong, due to the auto spell function assuming one word when it should be another. I often wonder if I should offer my services! And then second guess myself with the thought that maybe when you have to read that many words so quickly (publishing deadlines) anyone would do it. But having said that, it didn’t happen so often before auto spell. It’s unacceptable in professional publications, I feel. If I find it in a book, I’m offended because it knocks me out of the world I’m in. And ditto (to the above comments) for reading other people’s writing – I am a terrible snob when it comes to spelling and grammar and lose respect for the author.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment! Spark a Conversation!

